Apple and carrot cassava muffins

Apple and carrot cassava muffins

As common and fleeting as any trend always is, I too can sometimes (okay, fine. Many times) be a sucker for their momentous appearance. Buying 1kg of cassava flour without any knowledge of its taste is proof of that. Cassava flour is made from the South American native tuber, the cassava root or yuca. It’s a fine flour with a slight yellow-orange tinge and almost resembles the texture of cornflour.

So I was pondering an idea for a pre-workout bite in the mornings when that bag of cassava root decided to have a staredown with me. I caved, cut open the bag and mixed in two cups into the rest of my muffin mixture. The result? Surprisingly delicious! I didn’t want to add any sugar or sweetener to the mix as I intended to eat them with peanut butter and (sweet) banana anyway. Although I did add some grated carrot and apple to avoid them from being completely bland, the cassava flour turned out to lend a super subtle sweetness to the muffins that was a very welcome addition.

Will I keep falling prey for healthy ingredient trends? Most probs. Do I regret falling prey for the cassava flour trend? Man, I’ve only just begun falling!

Apple and carrot cassava muffins

Adapted from:  Marie Claire fresh + easy cookbook
Makes:
12 (smallish) muffins

INGREDIENTS
2 cups cassava flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 small red apples, grated*
1 carrot, grated*
1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
1 egg
3/4 cup plain yoghurt

 

HOW TO
1. Preheat the oven to 180’C and grease a muffin tin with coconut oil.
2. In a bowl, mix together the cassava flour, cinnamon, bicarb, baking powder and salt.
3. In another bowl, mix together the apples, carrot, oil, egg and yoghurt. Fold the wet ingredients through the dry ingredients until it just comes together.
4. Divide the batter between the holes of the prepared muffin tin and bake for 20-22 minutes. Remove from the tin and place on a wire rack to cool.

NOTES
– If you want a sweet muffin, mix in 1/2 cup of sugar or honey with the wet ingredients.
– I rarely peel my fruits and vegetables, so I used them peel and all. But feel free to peel them first before grating.

Leave a Reply

